Dumpert, Roth, Nichols, Howard, and Olmstead take Dawson County Opener

Print this page
April 29, 2018  |  by Anthony Ainslie

Racing action returned to the banks of the Dawson County Raceway Sunday as drivers looked to start their years off with a win and valuable points towards the track championships.

Five classes took to Lexington’s 3/8 mile oval to bring in the new season. Multiple drivers changed up their colors schemes, and others have moved to different racing divisions to add to the competition.

Sunday’s NeSmith late model main event saw Josh Leonard in the lead early on. Cory Dumpert gave him an early chase until he spun out while running in second on lap three bringing out the first caution.

Dumpert did not take long to work his way back up to second as Leonard continued to lead. The race stayed green until Jacob Kubicka went around in turn two.

With only two laps to go, Leonard broke and went off the track. Dumpert took the lead from there and went on to score the win. Dylan Schmer took second, and Denton Duncan came in third. Kubicka finished fourth, and Leonard rounded out the top five.

Anthony Roth dominated Sunday’s modified feature event. The Columbus, Nebraska driver took the lead on lap two from Cale Osborn and never looked back.

Cautions stopped and started the race. Three yellow flags came out with 18, 17 and 16 laps remaining and then again with 13 laps left. After that, Roth broke away from second place running David Murray Jr. and took home opening weekend for the modifieds. Murray finished second with Cale Osborn, Jay Steffans and Charles Stryker rounding out the top five.

Sunday’s stock car feature started out with Collin Heim grabbing the lead. Heim led while Mike Nichols tailed him for the lead. Heim held off Nichols going into the first two cautions on lap three.

With 15 laps left, Nichols took the lead for the first time only for Heim to take it back two laps later. Nichols took over the lead for good with only six laps to go. The defending IMCA national champion returned to the top after going undefeated at Dawson County in 2017.

Collin and Chris Heim took second and third while James Sheldon and Jeff Whiting rounded out the top five.

In Sunday’s sport mod main event, Lexington’s own Craig Howard took the lead early, and throughout the entire race, Howard had Jacob Slough and defending track champion Jacob Olmstead nipping at his heels.

Even with a caution with nine laps remaining, Howard hung on for the big win to start 2018 off on the right foot. Olmstead and Slough took second and third while Jacob Wolsleban and Jamey Kennicutt rounded out the top five.

In the hobby stock feature, Overton driver Zach Olmstead was head of the class. Olmstead took the lead on the opening lap and had to hold off a charge from Brady Benckan.

Nate Refior was involved in the big moment of the race when he got sideways in turn four and barrel-rolled landing on his roof. Fortunately, Refior was not seriously injured.

The race ended up finishing under caution as a car spun out on the final lap of the race. Olmstead took the win while defending track champion Luke Wassom came in second. Benckan took third while Allyn Myers and Tanner Jones finished out the top five.


Late Model
1) 77 Cory Dumpert
2) 5s Dylan Schmer
3) 83d Denton Duncan
4) 23 Jacob Kubicka
5) 85 Josh Leonard
6) 5t Tracy Harr

1) 60iv Anthony Roth
2) 97m David Murray, Jr.
3) 6c Cale Osborn
4) xii Jay Steffens
5) 19 Chuck Stryker
6) 50 Scott Smith
7) 0hp Bryan Herrick
8) 7 Clay Money
9) 93h Klancey Honeycutt
10) 0 Kyle Rohleder

1) 68 Craig Howard
2) 88j Jacob Olmstead
3) 15d Jacob Slough
4) 15k Jamey Kennicutt
5) 01 Jacob Wolsleben
6) 8 Andrew Rayburn
7) 59 Tyler Rajdl
8) 13t Tyler Andresen

Stock Car
1) 63 Mike Nichols
2) 6 Collin Heim
3) 1 Chris Heim
4) 84 James Sheldon
5) 16w Jeff Whiting
6) 45 Mikey Dancer
7) 11k Kyle Clough
8) 19 Dana Morgan
9) 24 Bob Chalupa
10) 53e Tyler Easterday

Hobby Stock
1) 98z Zach Olmstead
2) 2w Luke Wassom
3) 711 Brady Bencken
4) 99m Allyn Myers
5) 12t Tanner Jones
6) 1 Tanner Clough
7) 23en Brandon Nelson
8) 88 Morgan Olmstead
9) 88m T.C. McKain
10) 20b Brady Henderson