Vaught, Roth, Nichols, Olmstead, Wassom come away victorious at DCR

Print this page
June 17, 2018  |  by Anthony Ainslie

Jacob Olmstead celebrates his SportMod victory.
Jacob Olmstead celebrates his SportMod victory.

The racing action continued at the Dawson County Raceway as the season gets closer to the midway point.

The NeSmith late models were back along with the tracks four IMCA weekly racing classes as more valuable points were on the line. Some cloud and lower temperatures were both nice benefits and kept the track in good racing conditions.

Sunday’s late model event saw reigning NeSmith national rookie of the year Rece Vaught go wire to wire in a caution-free 15-lap main event. Defending track champion Josh Leonard closed in the on Vaught, but the 18-year-old from Aurora would not be denied. Vaught would become the third different winner in three races for the late Models.

1. Rece Vaught 2. Josh Leonard 3. Denton Duncan 4. Jake Kubicka.

Sunday’s modified feature event saw two lead changes in the first two laps as Cale Osborn and David Murray Jr. each took a turn at the front.

Defending track champion Jay Steffans brought out the only caution of the race after spinning off the track in turn three after Murray took the lead. Steffans would come back to finish fourth.

On the restart, point leader Anthony Roth made his way to the lead, and the Columbus native led the rest of the way. Roth picked up his fifth win of the year after his winning streak was snapped the previous week.

1. Anthony Roth 2. David Murray Jr. 3. Cale Osborn 4. Jay Steffans 5. Scott Smith 6. Colton Osborn 7. Charles Stryker 8. Kale Smith 9. Bryan Herrick.

In the stock car feature, Travis Kernick took the opening lead and showed the way for the first three laps before defending track and national champion Mike Nichols took command and never looked back. Kernick continued to battle in the top five and ended up finishing fifth.

As for Nichols, he remained undefeated, picking up his sixth win in a row in 2018 at Dawson County Raceway.

1. Mike Nichols 2. Mikey Dancer 3. James Sheldon 4. Jeff Whiting 5. Travis Kernick 6. Bob Chalupa 7. Allen Zimmerman 8. Dana Morgan 9. Tyler Easterday 10. Scott Stoll 11. Dan Stoll 12. Jamie Porterfield 13. Darin Racek.

In Sunday’s sport mod feature, it was a flawless 15-lap performance by defending track champion Jacob Olmstead. The Overton native took the lead on the opening lap and never looked back.

Point leader Jacob Slough and Craig Howard had an interesting battle for the third spot in the closing laps. In the end, Slough secured the third spot with Howard coming home fourth.

Olmstead would make it his third win on the year and his third in the row.

1. Jacob Olmstead 2. Jacob Wolsleben 3. Jacob Slough 4. Craig Howard 5. Andrew Rayburn 6. Dennis Price Jr.

Sunday’s hobby stock main event was an entertaining one from start to finish. Brady Henderson led his first lap in a feature in his career at Dawson County Raceway before defending track champion Luke Wassom took over the lead.

T.C. McKain brought out the only yellow after spinning in turn four while for third. He would come back to finish fourth. That would set up a four-lap dash to the finish.

Henderson ended up spinning in turn two on the final lap costing him his first career top five finish. Meanwhile, Wassom made it back-to-back feature wins at Dawson County.

1. Luke Wassom 2. Caleb Hetrick 3. Tanner Jones 4. Chuck Ledbetter 5. T.C. McKain 6. Morgan Olmstead 7. Brady Henderson 8. Allyn Myers.