Blurton dominates URSS feature at Dawson County; Spanjer, Nichols, Olmstead take weekly honors

Print this page
July 8, 2018  |  by Anthony Ainslie

The winged warriors came out in full force to the Dawson County Raceway for an exciting night of action Sunday.

The stars and cars of the United Rebel Sprint Series made their annual visit to the Dawson County Fairgrounds along with the track’s four IMCA weekly classes. A field of 18 sprint cars from four states made the trip to Lexington for the tour’s third race in the past six days.

The 20-lap main event was dominated by defending series champion Zach Blurton. The Quinter, Kansas, driver took the lead on the opening lap and walked away with the show.

A couple of spins in turn two slowed the race, but Blurton hit his marks on the restarts and cruised to a big win extending his point lead. Tyler Drueke came in second while Shon Pointer took third. Bryan Herbert and Stu Snyder rounded out the top five.

Feature finish: 1. Zach Blurton, 2. Tyler Drueke, 3. Shon Pointer, 4. Brian Herbert, 5. Stuart Snyder, 6. Neil Nickolite, 7. Ty Williams, 8. Coby Pearce, 9. Jordan Knight, 10. Shane Sundquist, 11. Aaron Ploussard, 12. Tim Fricke, 13. Darren Berry, 14. Tyler Knight, 15. Nick Nichols, 16. Tom Belsky, 17. Chad Salem, 18. John Webster.

Sunday’s modified feature went caution free for all 20 circuits. Early on, Scott Smith led the way while Brandon Spanjer, Mike Densberger and Brandon Clough went at each other for the second spot.

Spanjer broke away from that battle, and with nine laps to go, caught and passed Smith for the lead. Spanjer went on to lead the rest of the way to pick up his first win at Dawson County Raceway of the year becoming the third different winner in the modifieds.

Feature finish: 1. Brandon Spanjer, 2. Mike Densberger, 3. Brandon Clough, 4. Anthony Roth, 5. Kale Smith, 6. Jay Steffens, 7. Scott Smith, 8. Charles Stryker, 9. Bryan Herrick, 10. David Murray Jr., 11. Dave Pederson.

In the stock car main event, Mike Nichols was once again head of the class. In the opening laps, however, Justin Addison, who was making his debut at Dawson County Raceway, gave Nichols an early challenge but ended up in a tight battle for second with Mikey Dancer.

Three cautions slowed the race down, but it did not stop Nichols from leading all 20 laps in order to remain undefeated at Dawson County Raceway.

Feature finish: 1. Mike Nichols, 2. Mikey Dancer, 3. Justin Addison, 4. Travis Kernick, 5. Jeff Whiting, 6. Bob Chalupa, 7. James Sheldon, 8. Tyler Easterday, 9. Dana Morgan, 10. Darin Racek, 11. Scott Stoll, 12. Dan Stoll, 13. Jamie Porterfield, 14. Allen Zimmerman.

In the sport mod feature, defending track champion Jacob Olmstead took care of business leading every lap in the main event. Jacob Slough gave him a couple of challenges for the lead in the final laps, but Olmstead held him off to pick up the feature win, his fourth on the year.

Feature finish: 1. Jacob Olmstead, 2. Jacob Slough, 3. Jamey Kennicutt, 4. Craig Howard, 5. Jacob Wolsleben, 6. Andrew Rayburn, 7. Dennis Price Jr.

The hobby stock feature was also won by an Olmstead. This time, it was Zach Olmstead leading every lap and taking his second win at Dawson County Raceway in a caution free 15-lap feature. A third Olmstead, Morgan, also recorded his first top five finish at DCR of his career with a fifth place finish after running in third for most of the race.

Feature finish: 1. Zach Olmstead, 2. Allyn Myers, 3. Luke Wassom, 4. Caleb Hetrick, 5. Morgan Olmstead, 6. Tanner Jones, 7. T.C. McKain, 8. Tanner Clough, 9. Brady Henderson, 10. Chuck Ledbetter.