Duncan, Myers get first wins of season; Roth, Nickels, Olmstead return to victory lane

Print this page
July 15, 2018  |  by Anthony Ainslie

The Dawson County Raceway saw a couple of new faces make it to victory lane Sunday while three others made their triumphant returns back to the winners circle.

The NeSmith late models were back on the card along with DCR’s four IMCA weekly racing classes. With valuable track, regional, and national points on the line, the racing was hot and heavy.

The late models saw the fourth different feature winner in four races. Defending track champion Josh Leonard led early while Denton Duncan trailed behind closely.

The race only saw one caution when Jake Kubicka spun out in turn two costing him a chance at victory.

With ten laps remaining, Duncan overtook Leonard for the lead and never looked back. Rece Vaught tried to run down Duncan but ran out of laps. Duncan went on to pick up his first win of the season.

1. Denton Duncan 2. Rece Vaught 3. Josh Leonard 4. Jake Kubicka.

In the modified portion of the program, it was point leader Anthony Roth leading flag to flag. Defending track champion Jay Steffans tried everything to track Roth down, but the Columbus native was too fast.

The best battle of the race was between Scott and Kale Smith. The father-son duo from Davenport went side by side in the closing laps, and in a photo finish, it was father Scott getting fourth over Kale.

1. Anthony Roth 2. Jay Steffans 3. Charles Stryker 4. Scott Smith 5. Kale Smith 6. Bryan Herrick 7. Brandon Clough.

The stock car feature took awhile to get going as three cautions on the opening lap delayed the beginning of the race. When the action got under way, the race went caution free the rest of the way.

James Sheldon led the first lap before defending IMCA stock car national champion Mike Nichols took the lead and never looked back.

Meanwhile, Jeff Whiting, Travis Kernick, and Bob Chalupa had a great battle for the fifth position. The trio of Nebraska natives swapped fifth through seventh multiple times.

When the dust settled, Mike Nichols remained undefeated at Dawson County Raceway. He backed up his cash dash win earlier in the night with another feature victory.

1. Mike Nichols 2. James Sheldon 3. Dana Morgan 4. Tyler Easterday 5. Jeff Whiting 6. Bob Chalupa 7. Travis Kernick 8. Travis Demilt 9. Darin Racek 10. Mikey Dancer 11. Jed Williams 12. Jamie Porterfield.

Sunday’s sport mod feature saw Jacob Wolsleben take the lead on the opening lap, but by the second circuit, defending track champion Jacob Olmstead took the lead and ran away with the show.

Wolsleben was later challenged by Craig Howard for the second spot. The two battled side by side in the closing stages of the race resulting in Howard coming home in the second spot, his best finish of the season since winning the season opener.

Meanwhile, Olmstead picked up his third win in a row at Dawson County Raceway and added on to his point lead.

1. Jacob Olmstead 2. Craig Howard 3. Jacob Wolsleben 4. Tyler Rajdl 5. Dennis Price Jr. 6. Andrew Rayburn.

Sunday’s hobby stock was definitely the race of the night as Allyn Myers, Zach Olmstead, Luke Wassom, and Caleb Hetrick had an all-out battle for the feature win throughout the whole race. Olmstead, Hetrick and Wassom were in a fierce battle right behind Myers

A couple of early cautions did not stop the race from being a barn burner, and when the dust settled, Berwyn, Nebraska’s Allyn Myers picked up his first win at Dawson County Raceway of his career in arguably the best hobby stock feature race of the year so far.

1. Allyn Myers 2. Zach Olmstead 3. Caleb Hetrick 4. Luke Wassom 5. Jacob Olmstead 6. Tanner Clough 7. Chuck Ledbetter.